Mondeik shades Sauter to top victory lane at Stateline Challenge 43 days ago

NORWAY—Justin Mondeik grabbed the lead on a lap on a lap-53 restart and fought off NASCAR truck champion Johnny Sauter in the waning laps to capture the 38th annual Stateline Challenge at Norway Speedway Friday night.

The win was worth $5,000 and was Mondeik’s third straight Stateline victory and his fourth feature flag here this year.

Four caution flags flew in the first 11 laps of the contest, with hometown driver Joey Pontbriand keeping the lead through the ambers. Mondeik, who started the contest 11th, sliced his way through the field up into sixth by lap 17.

Former track champion Dan Lindsley scooted into the lead on a lap 26 restart and held the top spot until a caution flew for a scheduled 12-minute break at 50 laps.

Mondeik had threaded his way up into second by the break and needed only three laps when racing resumed to take the lead. The Gleason, Wis. ace kept a torrid pace and Sauter at bay to score the biggest payday of his career.

“The most money I won before this was $3,500 at the Larry Detjens Memorial race so this is huge,” Mondeik exclaimed in victory lane. “I appreciate Johnny (Sauter) running me clean at the end. I wasn’t really happy that a yellow flew with six laps to go for an air cleaner that was out of the groove but it is what it is.”

Sauter settled for second place money while fast qualifier Jason Wells was the highest finishing Michigan driver taking third. Scott Stanchina took third while Andy Monday rounded out the top five finishers.

The race was slowed by 10 caution periods and 16 cars were running at the end of the 100-lap feature. Fourteen of those 16 cars were running on the lead lap when the checkers flew.

In other action Marinette’s Kevin Peterson scored his third super stock feature win of the season while stock car division fast qualifier Jon Maenpaa of Kingsford captured the divison’s feature win. Fast qualifier Dean Bellmore of Hermansville won the 4-cylinder feature.

Racing resumes Friday night with the action getting underway at 7 p.m.


BINK’S COCA COLA SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE—Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis.; Johnny Sauter, Deforest, Wis.; Jason Wells, Kingsford; Scott Stanchina, Kingsford; Andy Monday, Appleton, Wis.; Brandon Reichenberger, Appleton; Louis Goss, Green Bay; Robby Iverson, Escanaba; Tanner Kelly, Waucedah; Cory Cootware, Iron Mountain; Parker Cain, Big Bay; Bryan Monday, Appleton; Bruce White, Kingsford; Scott Bolster, Marquette; Joey Pontbriand, Norway; John Ostermann, Norway; Darren Jackson, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.; Dan Lindsley, Vulcan; Braison Bennett, Neenah, Wis.; Adam Faull, Vulcan; Will Timmers, Kaukauna, Wis.

Qualifying dash—1. Bryan Monday; 2. Cain; Sauter; Iverson; Pontbriand; Kelly

FAST TIME—Wells, 14.419

AUTO VALUE SUPER STOCK FEATURE—Kevin Peterson, Marinette; Devon Wilcox, Florence, Wis.; John Mattia Jr., Norway; Anthony Schiefelbein, Pembine, Wis.; Trevor Pankratz, Little Suamico, Wis.; Tim Schultz, Vulcan; Andy Gerwig, Norway; Tony Wender, Upper Pine Creek; Lukas Peterson, Marinette; Destiny Bullard, Marquette; Dave Sanicki, Niagara; Chuck Gilbertson, Kaukauna, Wis.; Kelly LaCount, Athelstane, Wis.

HEAT—Wilcox, Mattia


FAST TIME—Sanicki, 15.867

141 AUTO SALES STOCK CAR FEATURE—Jon Maenpaa, Kingsford; Joe Ostermann, Norway; Brian Massicotte, Kingsford; Travis Hulzizer, Menominee; B.J. Schoneck, Marion, Wis.

HEATS—1. Schoneck; Zackary Krans, Kingsford 2. Gary Thom, Aurora, Wis.; Massicotte

FAST TIME—Maenpaa, 18.157

MC SIGNS & GRAPHICS 4 BANGER FEATURE—Dean Bellmore, Hermansville; Elliot Reid, Faithorn; Alex Bellmore, Hermansville; Cole Brown, Aurora; Scott Blanke, Shawano, Wis.

SEMI FEATURE—Shawn Charnota, Beecher; Dylan Tirschel, Kingsford

HEATS—1. Sophie Horneck, Peshtigo; Owen Eichmeyer, Powers; 2. Alex Bellmore; Dean Bellmore